Facebook has reworded the notification that appears when a user hits the ‘x’ associated with stories in their Mini-Feed. The dialog box now simply reads, “Hiding will remove the story from your Mini-Feed.”
The change comes four days after we reported on the misleading nature of the old dialog box. Previously, the box stated that by removing a story, users would “prevent anyone from seeing it”. Most people assumed this applied both to the Mini-Feed tied to their profile and to the stories that would be sent to their friends, but this was not the case.
This change is clearly a quick fix on Facebook’s part, and it does little to alleviate the real issue at hand. The new notification box may be less misleading, but Facebook users are still left without a way to control which stories are being sent to their friends.