Startups to pitch at Le Web in Paris

Europe’s biggest annual event for the tech industry is looming once more, and this year Le Web’s regular startup competition – run alongside the conference itself – has attracted 30 companies from Europe, and a few from the US, across a wide range of sectors. This year the overall organisation for the competition is being handled by the Europe-wide early-stage investor SeedCamp.

However, I’m as dissappointed as you guys that there’s only one startup from the UK and none from Ireland, which seems like an amazing oversight. I’ve asked Seedcamp for some comment on this and will update this post when they come back with a response.

Meanwhile, we have 5 free tickets to give away to Le Web, so pitch your case as to why you really need to go to Le Web. I’m particularly after entries from UK and Irish firms.

TechCrunch readers get a 20% discount code via this link. Techcrunch is throwing a closing night party – details about tickets will be announced in due course.

They are (in alphabetical order)…

2Win-Solutions – FRANCE
3scale networks S. L. – SPAIN [TC50 Demopit]
Apture – USA, Inc. – USA
Brozengo SA – FRANCE
Charge Ventures – Malta
Cmune – CHINA
ConTrust – ISRAEL
Haploid – FRANCE
IZI-collecte – FRANCE
Kaltura – USA Certified – FRANCE
Nimbuzz – NETHERLANDS [Reviewed]
Popego Inc. – USA
Producteev Inc. – USA
Publing – FRANCE
Radionomy – BELGIUM [Reviewed]
Samedi GmbH – GERMANY
ShoutEm Ltd. – CROATIA
Silentale SAS – FRANCE
SquareClock – FRANCE [Reviewed]
Tellmewhere – FRANCE
Trendiction – LUXEMBURG
Viewdle, Inc – UKRAINE [Reviewed]
Zipipop Ltd (Zipiko) – FINLAND
Zoover Holiday Reviews – NETHERLANDS

The companies get 7 minutes each to pitch to the judges on the day. There’s also a new element – a special Start-up Competitors’ Lounge where companies will have a chance to informally network with interested parties. Here’s how they were selected.

The judges who will be judging the competition at the actual event will be:

Ola Ahlvahrsson – Result
Roberto Bonanzinga – Balderton Capital
Mike Butcher – TechCrunchUK
Laurent Chiozotto – Sun Microsystems
Julien Codorniou – Microsoft
Don Dodge – Microsoft
David Hornik –August Capital
Pierre Kosciusko-Morizet – Price Minister
Simon Levene – Accel Partners
Om Malik – GigaOM
Dave McClure – 500Hats
Freddy Mini – Netvibes
Marc Samwer – European Founders Fund
Axel Schmiegelow – Sevenload
Gary Shainberg – British Telecom
Megan Smith – Google
Pascal Thomas – Orange
Martin Varsavsky – FON